2010 Predictions, Sony Open Picks

With the first full field tournament, The Sony Open, starting on Thursday I thought this was a great time to put my predictions out there and see what you all think.   With so many variables, this could be a tough year dissecting the world of golf

  • Let me get this out of the way, I think Tiger will be back this year before the Masters.  The only thing he’s done his whole life is play golf and I cannot see him taking too much time off no matter what Elin says.  My guess is she files for divorce within the next couple months and he’s back playing in Orlando at the Arnold Palmer Invitational
  • Regardless of Tiger I think this is Phil Mickelson’s year.  He has finally got his putting figured out, I can see at least one major and 5 wins on tour on his way to the POY.  Lefty has been working hard on his game this off season and I expect him to win twice before the Masters where he’ll win his first major since 2006.
  • In the 4 majors I like Phil for the Masters with Nick Watney being a possible darkhorse.  US Open Champion – Vijay Singh, darkhorse – Ryan Moore.  British Open Champion – Luke Donald, darkhorse – Graeme McDowell.  PGA Champion – Rory Sabbatini, darkhorse – Matt Kuchar.   I know my picks aren’t the usual, but if you want to see the chalk picks go to ESPN or The Golf Channel.  I will get into the reasons for my picks later in the year and look for all of these guys to have big 2010 seasons.

This week at the Sony Open I’m really liking Rory Sabbatini and Vijay Singh.  I think both of these guys have enough game to win this week.  As a bit of a sleeper I’m looking at Pat Perez, he played well last week at the SBS.  He and his brother Mike, winner of Big Break: Disney, have been practicing hard over the off season and I expect a nice year for Pat.

Let me know what you think of my predictions and picks for this week either via twitter (@pmickelsonfans) or by commenting below.  I promise to reply to everyone

Leave a comment

Filed under Golf, PGA, Phil Mickelson

Leave a Reply

